image credit: Pexels

Baltic countries sign offshore security pact

April 10, 2024

Via: reNews

The Energy Ministers of 8 Baltic Sea countries – Lithuania, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Poland and Sweden – have pledged closer collaboration to secure critical offshore energy infrastructure in the Baltic Sea region.

The Vilnius Declaration comes after the Russian invasion of Ukraine and various acts of sabotage to energy infrastructure in the Baltic Sea have created new security concerns.

The signatories commit to deter possible malign activities against offshore and underwater infrastructure within NATO and EU.

Read More on reNews